Michael Owen, Federico Macheda and Ji-sung Park helped Manchester United to run out 4-1 winners against New England Revolution 4-1 to kickstart their pre-season tour of the United States.

Reds’ performance in the first half was one to forget, but a flurry of second-half goals, including four in the space of 11 frantic minutes, made everyone present at The Gillette Stadium go crazy!

Sir Alex branded Manchester United's first match of the 2011 pre-season tour a success and said,

“You're always glad to get the first game out of the way. You expect maybe some tiredness to creep in at some point in the game, but I thought our fitness looked good. And we managed to get most of the players some game time, which is the main reason for having pre-season games, to make sure everybody, by the end of the tour, has enough game time to get his rhythm and tempo back in.”

Having opened their American tour with a victory, United now fly to Seattle on Thursday ahead of next Wednesday’s encounter with Seattle Sounders at Centurylink Field.

The rest of the schedule is as follows:

20 July, 19:00 PDT (03:00 UK) - Seattle Sounders
23 July, 16:00 CDT (22:00 UK) - Chicago Fire
27 July, 21:00 EDT (02:00 UK) - MLS All-Stars
30 July, 19:00 EDT (00:00 UK) - FC Barcelona


Post a Comment

Creative Commons License